TES awards celebrate “unsung heroes” of education and honour former NUT general secretary

Janet Downs's picture
The Overall Outstanding School of the Year in the TES 2013 School Awards was the George Eliot Primary School, a multicultural community school in London. George Eliot also scooped the prize for Primary School of the Year.

Westminster Academy, London, was named Secondary School of the Year and Adelaide School, Crewe, was Special Needs School of the Year.

A Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Peter Sheppard who officially retired ten years ago but still teaches part-time at the Royal Wootton Bassett Academy, Wiltshire. Mr Sheppard has devoted 47 years to Wootton Bassett School which became an academy in July 2011.

Fred Jarvis, former general secretary of the National Union of Teachers (NUT), was honoured for his Services to Education.

Congratulations to all winners and those who were shortlisted.  As Gerard Kelly, editor of TES, said:

"There are so many unsung heroes working in our schools, and so many schools doing fantastic work with little public recognition."

A full list of the TES Schools Award winners is here.

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook

Be notified by email of each new post.

Add new comment

Already a member? Click here to log in before you comment. Or register with us.